Hema's Musings - Blog

Let’s Play Bridge vs Driving on it

hemlata_cards3031-23

The “bridge verses bridge” came up because of the working title of my novel in progress–The Cascade Bridge Lottery. Someone asked me if there is a bridge (one you can drive on) named Cascade Bridge. A few wondered if the bridge that collapsed in Mount Vernon was called Cascade. Being a bridge enthusiast, it had never occurred to me that the card game I referred to in my story, could be misidentified as a roadway over water. My characters, four couples, were working toward a “grand slam” in the game of bridge and not a structure, especially not the one that fell in the river.

To avoid any confusion, I decided to change the title of my novel to The Cascade Winners. I’m hoping my characters will continue their bridge game and win a lottery too.

